Home » Uncategorized » DC Subways

DC Subways

Granted I’m not a huge fan of the MBTA back in Boston, I will say that it does have a very user friendly color coded system. Perhaps it’s due to the fact that the MBTA is the oldest running subway system in the country (dating back to the Tremont Street Trolley, now part of the Green line, and the Charlestown Elevated line, now the Orange line), but the T seems to have a system of explaining which trains go where. I don’t know how old the DC metro is, but I doubt its been around quite as long.

That being said, I think that the system DC’s metro has in place is rather confusing. While the trains seem to be cleaner and less crowded than the trains in Boston, the color-coded system they have in place is confusing to say the least. If one good thing can be said about the MBTA (and believe me, it’s hard to find many good things to say about the MBTA), it’s nice when the Orange line is ORANGE, and the green line is GREEN, etc. The trains down here in DC rely more on a system that doesn’t involve any actual color, but rather, little electric signs at the beginning of each car that one has to look out for. What is even more confusing, though it can be argued that it is more convenient, is that different lines run on the same tracks.

Overall, while I was expecting differences in this transit system, I find the whole thing a bit hard to follow, and I’m usually very good with finding my way around different places. While it may be a pain sometimes, I still prefer the good ol’ MBTA

Leave a Reply

